Migrating from Optikey v2
From version 3 onwards, Optikey has been split into four different apps - Optikey Pro, Optikey Mouse, Optikey Chat and Optikey Symbol. If you were previously using Optikey version 2 extensively, then you will probably want to install Optikey Pro v3, which has all the functionality from previous versions of Optikey. If you only used a small part of it (for instance Conversation Mode only), you may want to replace it with one of the smaller apps (e.g. Optikey Chat). For more information about the different Optikey apps, see What is Optikey?
When you install any of the v3 apps, they will be installed alongside your existing version of Optikey, and it will have default (factory reset) settings. If you've previously changed any settings to customise Optikey, you will need to set these again in the Management Console of the new app. You may find that a few settings have been simplified or moved slightly but no functionality has been lost - if you have any trouble settings things up, please let us know at firstname.lastname@example.org and we can advise.
We suggest that when you're happy with your new setup, you manually uninstall the previous version of Optikey.
FYI it is possible to install any combination of the new (and old) versions of Optikey. For example you might want to install Optikey Chat for communication, alongside Optikey Mouse for instances when you only need mouse control. All installed applications will maintain their own separate settings, but all will share the same dynamic keyboards, CommuniKate keyboards, dictionaries, and plugins.